Regular Retreat Programme Announced

Thursday 30th June 2022

A new series of day retreats is set to help us learn more about our faith through the study of scripture, prayer, and other religious texts.

The day retreats will be led by Donna Worthington and will be hosted at the new centre at Our Lady of Lourdes and St Gerard Majella, Brownedge Road, Lostock Hall.

Each retreat will run from 11.30am to 3pm, including a 30-minute lunch, and will cost £20.

To register an initial interest for a particular retreat, please call the parish office on 01772 335387 or email office@saintgerards.org.uk by Monday 29th August 2022. Please include your name, contact details, and the retreat(s) you are interested in attending.

Please note – a minimum of 15 people are required for a retreat to be offered.

Retreat dates and themes

Saturday 10th September 2022
JOHN OF THE CROSS’ SPIRITUAL CANTICLE
Explore this exquisite poem, wrought from his own personal darkness.

Tuesday 4th October 2022
THE WATER INTO WINE  (John 2:1-11)
The symbol of empty water jars and new wine: emptying ourselves, to offer a space for life lived in all its fullness.

Thursday 8th December 2022
ADVENT MYSTERY

A Journey with Mary who gives birth to the Word.

Friday 10th February 2023
INTRO TO IGNATIAN PRAYER
Using our imagination to open up a space to be attentive to God.

Saturday 11th March 2023
LENTEN JOURNEY
Into the Wilderness, Jesus’ final words in his Farewell Discourses, waiting with him in Gethsemane.

Saturday 13th May 2023
PENTECOST
The divine fire and the call to go forth into a life based on freedom and hope.

Wednesday 7th June 2023
THE PRACTICE OF THE PRESENCE OF GOD
Br Lawrence’s wisdom on prayer as part of our daily lives.

Monday 3rd July 2023
LECTIO DIVINA
An ancient monastic approach, being led by the Holy Spirit through Scripture.

Facebook Twitter

Tagged | Around the Diocese | Diocese | Events | Parishes | Prayer | Retreat


In other news