Academy Strategy

The diocesan strategy has matured over a number of years. The diocese of Salford have three Catholic Academy Trusts (CAT) covering the diocesan footprint. Each CAT covers a number of deaneries and broadly reflect a number of local authority areas.

Every diocesan school in our diocesan family are naturally associated with, or are a member of, a CAT. The potential pupil population – similar in each – is around 24,000 learners in a mixed estate of between 50-60 primary and 10 secondary schools.

The diocesan CATs are aligned in their governance arrangements and trust directors, like foundation governors, are appointed on behalf of the bishop by his delegate.

The three Salford diocesan CATs are:

Romero Catholic Academy Trust

St Teresa of Calcutta 

Emmaus Catholic Academy Trust

Contact Us


Latest Communications
Academies in Salford Diocese

In January 2016, Diocesan Trustees decided that schools could begin to consider the option of converting to academy status.

This decision recognised that there is a changing landscape in regard to educational provision and funding since the earlier decision (taken in December 2012) not to allow any of our schools to convert.

The Trustees and the Diocesan Department for Education envisaged that some schools might convert and some might remain as they are, blending together in a “mixed economy” within our Diocesan family of Catholic schools.

These contrasting decisions by the Trustees are actually underpinned by the same principle, namely seeking to ensure that we preserve the Diocesan family of schools and the rights we have as a Catholic community regarding education under the dual system.

This position is set out in the terms of reference for the Diocesan Trustees’ Schools Committee which has, as one of its responsibilities: “Overseeing, through a specific sub-committee to be known as the Diocesan Trustees Academy Committee, the establishment of Catholic Multi Academy Trusts and the conversion of schools to academy status in a manner and at a timing appropriate to local needs.”

Academy Information and Guidance
Policy Documents
Catholic Senior Executive Leader